Asleep at a time of need

Asleep at a time of need!

Mat 26:38 Then he said, “This sorrow is crushing my life out. Stay here and keep vigil with me .”
Mat 26:39 Going a little ahead, he fell on his face, praying, “My Father, if there is any way, get me out of this. But please, not what I want. You, what do you want?”
Mat 26:40 When he came back to his disciples, he found them sound asleep. He said to Peter, “Can’t you stick it out with me a single hour?
Mat 26:41 Stay alert; be in prayer so you don’t wander into temptation without even knowing you’re in danger. There is a part of you that is eager, ready for anything in God. But there’s another part that’s as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.”
Mat 26:42 He then left them a second time. Again he prayed, “My Father, if there is no other way than this, drinking this cup to the dregs, I’m ready. Do it your way.”
Mat 26:43 When he came back, he again found them sound asleep. They simply couldn’t keep their eyes open.
Mat 26:44 This time he let them sleep on, and went back a third time to pray, going over the same ground one last time.
Mat 26:45 When he came back the next time, he said, “Are you going to sleep on and make a night of it? My time is up, the Son of Man is about to be handed over to the hands of sinners.

Taken from The Message

I read this about 2:00 in the morning while I was getting ready for work. I don’t know how many times I have read this, but something really jumped out at me. I guess normally I am so into the story I don’t stop until they take Jesus away. But today it really popped out about how Peter and the 2 sons of Zebedee couldn’t stay awake. Here was really the one time that Jesus wanted their support. Wanted their pray covering. Maybe just wanted their company. Did they rise to the occasion? No, they slept through this incredible opportunity.

How many times have I slept through the incredible opportunities God has given me? I don’t mean a physical sleep but a spiritual sleep. A selfish sleep. Just like the disciples I have fallen asleep on the job.

Help us Lord to be wide awake in times of others needs.

One thought on “Asleep at a time of need

Leave a Reply

